The Right to Assisted Dying

Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

Protecting the Parts of the Whole

Much angst has occurred in the House of Commons concerning the Supreme Court’s deliberate pressure on the new government to lock-step or rush this important legislation, almost as if they want the ruling government to fail in the effort.

Nevertheless, I approved of the proposed C-14 legislation. After all, the concerns I presented to the Justice Minister was elegantly dealt with. The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould also unveiled it to the press, and thus to the people, in a very specific way which I applauded: she clearly indicated that this was the groundwork legislation to be presented for the June 6th deadline. Further specific and scientifically and sociologically informed legislation would deal with issues such as palliative care, mental illnesses, and so on.

The following is my research that I sent to the Justice Minister. It explains the context of my approval of the legislation:

Avoiding the Slippery Slope

justice jody

Regards.

Janet A McDonald, Strategic and Tactical Criminal Analyst

 

 

Leave a comment